3D shifting

The method I discussed in my last post has proved very helpful.  I have discovered that by alternately paying attention to what I see through my left and right eyes, I notice that the only point they share in common is at the center of vision.  As soon as I recognize this point, I see much more clearly, and with a greater depth perception than before!  The trick is to recognize that shifting is not just letting the world move up, down, left, right.  The world moves around you (as far as your visual system as center of the universe is concerned) in a turning motion.  When the eyes move to the left, the world doesn’t shift to the right, it _turns_ to the right.  The distinction is important because it helps one to lose the impression that everything is seen with equal clarity.

You can demonstrate it for yourself very easily (without glasses or contacts).  Place an object in front of you like a box or something else that is big enough to notice that certain features are closer or farther away.  Place it at an angle to yourself .  Also, it might help to have something relatively distinctive behind it that is in your line of sight.  For example, if I put  a box on a coffee table about two feet from a corner in the room, I can see the box, parts of the coffee table, and the corner of the wall behind it.  Now, alternate covering each eye with your hand and look at one feature on the box or object in front o fyou.  Notice how teh relative position of the objects behind what you directly see change position slightly.  Pay attention to how they change in your peripheral sight, even as you are looking and studying the box.  Now, looking with both eyes at the box, alternate paying attention to the features seen in the peripheral vision with the right and left eyes.  What you will see is that the point regarded becomes clearer as the objects behind seem to flicker back adn forth in their relative positions in the perihpery of the left and right eye.    The point regarded may even seem to shift ever so slightly back and forth and  as the attention moves on to another point of interest, that point seems to shift quickly back and forth.   Now and then check both eyes separately by physically covering each eye separately to make sure that you aren’t staring through one eye and shifting with the other.  You will know if that’s what you are doing if one eye is clearer than normal and the other eye blurrier than normal.  If that happens, palm to rest, and try it again later (but only if it’s fun and relaxing for you).

I applied this technique during my run yesterday and was able to see just as well at the end of my run as at the beginning.  Normally, I see best at the beginning of my run and slightly worse at the end because I start zoning out at the end.    i think, after reading this through, it’s a bit complicated.  This might be something best learned from a teacher if you can’t get the hang of it on your own!  It’s worth trying!  I’ve also used it successsfully in the last couple of days to read my computer screen WOG.

3 thoughts on “3D shifting

  1. You are so interesting! I do not think I have read
    something like that before. So nice to find someone with unique thoughts on this subject
    matter. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up.
    This website is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with
    some originality!

Leave a Reply

